Awesome African Food!

Our church had an African Sunday today, complete with a special feast following the regular worship service. Although I must admit, I would not try the goat (I showed dairy goats in 4-H from the time I was 8 until 19 and to this day will not eat goat meat…) but the rice, sweet plantains, catfish, and something new to me, chin chin, was awesome. The rice and plantains reminded me of some Costa Rican or Centro American cuisine, which I already liked.  Chin chin rocks.  It looks like some sort of nut, but it is made from some sort of dough and taste a bit like really crunchy donuts. I was also happy to find fresh papaya, pineapple, and mango–which are prevalent in Latin American cuisine too.   Puff Puff, more or less a soft type of donut, was also very tasty.  We very much enjoyed celebrating with our African brothers and sisters in Christ from Liberia, Nigeria, and Ethiopia.

the sweet plantains were wonderful

 Chin Chin–a traditional Nigerian snack:

awesome crunchy snack!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment